Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the important of extra activities in high school which frequently generates a great deal of heated debate has now become even more controversial. While some people maintain that students should focus only on their studying, in my opinion, I believe that schools should include these activities as obligatory part of their program.

At the outset, in traditional education, community service is not considered as an important part. In fact, in the past, school is thought to give general knowledge only. For example, pupils go to school to archive knowledge on science and social while society reaction should be the responsibility of family.

On the other hand, there are a myriad of reasons why student should participate in community activities. First, nowadays, there are many people in the society need the help from others. Youth as future owner of the country should undertake part of this responsibility. By this way, they could develop good sentiments and have initial concept about the mission of their life. Another point to be taken into consideration is that by participating in community activities, pupils could build up necessary skills that are necessary in their future career. For example, while students try to help others in daily activities, they are practicing team work.

In conclusion, in my perspective, I’m inclined to believe that it is greatly beneficial to participate in community activities. However, these activities should be only considered as additional activities and schools should careful consider about type of activities to ensure that they do not affect the studying of students in other subjects.