Some people feel that public money should not be spent on cultural amenities such as museums, theaters and art festivals. How important do you think these things are to society as a whole? Are there any areas which are more important for the government to fund?

Smart spending of a municipal budget is by no means the crucial part of people’s satisfaction. Though it could different concerns appear regarding focusing areas of investments to a cultural object doing by authorities. In this essay, I would like to overview both scenarios of budgeting and try to suggest what is more important for the authorities.

Foremost, a lot of questions are initiated when money has been spent to the museum, art gallery or theaters. In my opinion, the allocation of some sources to create and develop such cultural staff is obligatory for the government in terms of severe importance for citizens, regardless of the sum of budget. The strong cultural environment allows improving an individual and a common level of literacy among inhabitants. Keeping a focus on the development of non-business activities, authorities could be sure that many city dwellers are able to fulfill their free time. From another side, this funding to some extent leads to establishing a smart and viable population in the future, engaging more young people to the culture.

However, still, other variable touch points exist which is help needed. It seems like an infrastructure, medicine, transport are also very important for any country and city. All these correspond to the basic needs and, for sure, are more important for people living in a large dwelled territory. Country leaders, as well as financial institutes, should realize the high importance of that, and they should invest even more resources developing those areas. In my view, a significant part of a budget should be spent to maintain all social objects, and afterward, the culture would benefit from the government.

To sum up, there is no denying that the cultural environment is one of the major areas of gratifying people, but above all the infrastructural, healthy and transport facilities have a higher concern. It is no means that the question of smart investment is not closed and requiring more focus from all sides.