Crime appears to be rising in most countries in the world, especially among young people. Identify the possible causes of this trend, and propose some solutions you think would be effective.

One of nowadays’ rising problems is the crime among underaged people. The causes of this appear to be focussed on three areas, and a number of solutions also appear to be possible.

Perhaps the major factor here is the flow of violence translated through TV, the Internet, and video games. For instance, the number of criminal and blockbuster movies released annually on the screens is overwhelming. Immature teenager’s psychology could not deal with all this information and some patterns could be taken as role models. Another reason might be the common trend of softening in fosterage approach, low discipline and permissiveness across young generation. A third factor could be the rising cost of higher education and, as a result, an increasing number of young people staying undergraduate. For example, in Russia University-level education was virtually free 10-20 years ago, while now the percentage of financed by the government slots varies from 5 to 15%. The trend of increasing the cost of getting the university degree seems to be global. This leads to lower level of intelligence, cultural level and income level across young people.

Turning to possible solutions, an obvious step would be to enhance the age restriction for access to TV, movies, games and Internet resources with violent content. A second remedy might be tightening the discipline at schools and in society. For example, in Germany, a pupil could not skip a school day as this omission would be followed by a policeman visit and a fine imposement upon his or her family. Finally, the restorement of some elements of state budgeting to University cources could help to increase average level of education among young people. This would help countries to have more educated and cultured society.

In summary, the factors of open access to violent information, low discipline standards and prohibitive cost of higher education appear to be the main causes of growing number of crimes globally. A coordinated response by the state, the schools and mass media may well lessen the severity of the situation.