Some people feel that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others feel that the circumstances of an offence should be taken into account when deciding on a punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Certain people are of the view that fixing the same punishment for each crime should be adopted. However, others believe in considering the situation in which the crime is committed, in order to decide upon the punishment for the offender. In my opinion, I consider that the fixed punishment goes a long way in discouraging people from turning to crime.

On the one hand, it is thought by people that there ought to be fixed punishment for the specific offence and I agree with this view. As people know the consequences of an offence beforehand, It acts as a perfect deterrent for those contemplating the crime, thereby, reducing the occurrences of it in society in the long run. Moreover, it ensures quick decision making, resulting in lesser dependency on courts and judges for judgments. In contrast, countries like India, where the trial goes on for years and the judgement is delayed, often leads convicts slipping through the loopholes in the law and go scot free.

On the other hand, some people think that circumstances surrounding the crime should be a deciding factor for charging the offender. In other words, a person charged with murder while acting in self defence ought not be given same punishment as a repeat offender, or someone with a pre-planned intentions. In many instances, offenders are usually mentally unstable, and need therapies, counselling and rehabilitation rather than the same punishment as other people.

In conclusion, although the situation in which the convict is placed can be considered at the time of deciding the sentence, it is more important to fix the same punishments for a particular crime, if we wish to achieve a safe society for our citizens.