Some people feel that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others feel that the circumstances of an offence should be taken into account when deciding on a punishment.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Severe punishments always give second thought to criminal before committing crimes. While some people argue that there should be a fixed harsh punishment for every crime, I strongly agree with others who suggest to take circumstances into account when declaring punishment for each and every crime.

It is fact that, punishments such as death penalty and life imprisonment are often frighten to criminals. Accordingly, these punishments pressurize criminal activists to bar major crimes such as drugs & illegal arms trafficking and murders. It is said by some people that the main objective behind the same punishment for every crime helps to reduce it and save innocent people in society. For example, to save young women of America, a serial killer in U.S.A named Ted Bundy had been executed by US Court in 1989 for his mass murder of 30 women.

In my opinion, I would vigorously believe that persecuting a convict without knowing his/her aspects of situation and circumstance violates human rights. Firstly, consider all circumstances and proofs are a law of judiciary system. For instance, any criminal activist has right to express their positions, evidence and reasons behind crime. Therefore, it is crucial for judge to take all these views then finalizes verdicts. Secondly, some crimes are very minor and it is said that in some countries, there may be situations like lack of employment and poverty raise some people to commit crimes. For example, robbery.

In conclusion, I opine that punishment should be severe to save innocent people and make crime free society, although it should not be for every criminality. Perhaps, there must be examined every circumstance behind activity.