Some people prefer to live in the city while others are more comfortable in the countryside.

Why do you think some people have a preference?

Are there particular ages when living in the city or the country suit better?

Living in a megalopolis or a village has some features which may be seen by younger and older people differently. This essay will look more closely at those features and which age may be a preference.

To begin with, life in a city is seen as more robust, energetic, and dynamic as there is often something happening. Moreover, urban areas, on average, have a lower rate of unemployment and there are considerably more job prospects for people of working age.

At the same time, life in a rural area is perceived as a calmer and more peaceful. For instance, there are only a few ways to have fun or relax as there are fewer diversions such as theatres and art galleries. Furthermore, there is a growing concern about rural unemployment which has led to the depopulation of the countryside. Thus, some people may tend to believe that the country fits more to elderly and retired individuals who have their savings and pensions.

However, older people are not always keen to leave urban areas; in fact, many retired people who used to live in the countryside have moved from their villages and small towns. The reason is that the major cities provide that category of individuals with more healthcare, social benefits and opportunities to socialize. For example, those with limited social interaction may be able to meet new people .

To sum up, it is widely believed that senior citizens prefer to live in the countryside, whereas young individuals tend to inhabit sprawling cities. However, the elderly may find more support and care in the urban areas; thus they might leave their village homes and moved to cities. In other words, it is possible that megalopolises meet the needs of all ages.