Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tells us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertising arise long time ago when the necessity to promote a person or a product was needed in order to increase his popularity or its sales. As time passes by, advertisement was being used not for only good propaganda, but for also for bad ones, which leads people to have the wrong idea about the content or realise that they actually need whats being advertised. This essay will agree with the statement that advertising is used to inform consumers about brand new goods that can possibly upgrade their lives.

Firstly, it is important to establish a negative side of advertisement, which is to create an unnecessary need for the product. For those which create a campaign for a merchandise, they must develop a sense of need the product, even if won’t be as useful as it seems. The wight loss pills are an outstanding example of a product that has great and intense advertising, although it doesn’t work as expected. Some people buy these goods because the propaganda gives them a lot of expections and, as studies demonstrate, there are psychological triggers to encourage a person to purchase a merchandise even if they don’t need to. So, it is a practise that should be banned because leads the consumer to a mistake.

However, publicity has it own positive side, which I agree: facilitate the customers to know about a product that can be really helpful. Everyday, someone discovers of develops a fresh merchandise. This is possible thanks to the technological growth, but it wouldn’t reach enough consumers if it wasn’t for advertisement. For example, new smartphones are being created every year with several improvements and enhances such as: access to internet, câmeras for vídeo chatting, waterproof function, calculator and many other features. Therefore, the goods that might improve a person’s life for the better should be advertised as much as possible in order to make everyone’s life easier.

Thus, publicity is getting stronger each day and will have even a bigger impact in people’s choices in the future since it can help or prejudice their decisions about a product or someone. This essay discussed the some of the negative and the positive aspects about advertising and agreed with the idea that advertisements can be helpful in other to announce a fresh product to a person that might use it, but would never know existence of it if wasn’t for propaganda.