Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Advertisement industry has drastically revolutionized as compared to past decade. The type of advertisement & ad concepts has changed people purchasing behaviors altogether. Some people assert that advertisement makes people purchase the items they are not required with, whereby other are of the opinion that advertisement helps us understand what products can bring ease and efficiency in our lives. Let's discuss both views in detail before reaching to a final verdict.

To begin with, nowadays, there are numerous products which are unnecessary to buy. Advertisements makes the product looks so appealing that irrespective consumer is in need of that product or not tends to purchase it. Advertisement industry uses the emotional appeal in their ads. For instance, in an ad, there is a fruits and vegetable cutting set, that cuts the vegetable and fruits in minutes. They present that product in such a way that consumer feels if he or she does not buy it they would be wasting their time cutting through knife. However, that product just provides an added advantage and many people are using conventional method of cutting easily. Another example would be automatic mops that helps us clean the house more easily and is time saving and the list goes on.

On the flip side, advertisement do help us improve our life standards. By watching certain ad we get to know availability of efficient facilities and productive products that can bring ease in our daily life. For instance, the use of branch less banking, we can pay our bills through mobile; moreover, we can send money to another city to the exact person without the hassle of getting into bank lines conveniently. We are using these facilities only because these products and facilities were projected by media in its true manner.

To summarize the aforementioned, media and advertisement plays a vital role in shaping up an image of a product or a person. To an extent, these advertisements exaggerates the idea to an inappropriate length that consumer feels like product necessary as basic need. Advertisement industry has a big responsibility over them to project the product in its true manner and let the customer decide if he needs the product or not.