A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Down the centuries, our living standards have been dramatically changed. With the passage of time, moral values, norms and ethical standards are counted as old fashioned. Nowadays, people have become so materialistic that only financially stable people are considered to be respected. I completely agree to this dilemma that we as human beings have failed to maintain high values and respect for everyone irrespective of their statuses.

In running days, everyone is striving to earn more and more money in order to be recognized as a respectable person. People only consider material values such as person owing a grand house, series of cars and a good bank balance. The source of income is completely neglected. The concept of white money and black money is obsolete now. For instance, I would like to quote an evident example of our politicians here. No one cares from what source these people have earned so much money, their corruption and money laundering is overlooked by their blind followers as they can own people’s vote on the account of one time meal only.

People who are still living with high values and self esteem are considered to be orthodox that do not have the potential to adapt the change. Our youth has been severely affected because of this mindset, they have forgotten basic manners such as respecting elders and showing responsibility towards their family.Unfortunately, this dilemma has also make people insensitive in nature and careless towards their dear ones and society.

To recapitulate the aforementioned, there is no denial that with the passage of time we have emerged as more decent, organized and mature population, but this lifestyle has also triggered a race to become financially strong which will lead to nowhere. The materialistic approach will not only affect existing masses but also will leave a devastating impact on coming generations.