Some people say that in all level of education, from primary school to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills, do you agree or disagree?

This is not a deniable fact that much time is needed for practical exposure alongside theory learnings. A group of people is of the view that at all learning stages teacher focuses on theory or concept understanding and practical work is neglected. I completely agree to this school of thought. I will support my view with valid arguments and examples.

To begin with, unfortunately, our study structure focuses on book learning instead of getting hands on experience. Consequently, when students steps into practical life, they face competency issues of performing different task they had learnt at academic level. For instance, an MBA student will not be able to fill a tax forms, furthermore, an electrical engineer will not be able to fix a light bulk until taught.

To elucidate the argument further, currently teacher focuses on teaching the content written in books rather than realizing the importance of showing practical example or getting the concept physically performed. To illustrate this further, at college level, while I had everyday class of computer; I got to attend computer lab only once a week to practice the language codes we learnt over the week. Due to this improper distribution and lack of practical experience my expertise were not developed to work in a professional environment.

In a nutshell, in this competitive environment, we need to reconsider our method of teaching and include balance portion of theory and practical learning like in developed countries. In western countries their core focus is to get everything practically done through students that give them confidence and sense of achievement.