Some people say that in all level of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you argree or disagree?

It is argued by some people that today's education system at all levels, from schooling to college, is focusing on theoretical information much more than practical skills. From my point of view, I totally agree with this statement, and in this essay, I express my opinion on it.

Admittedly, the pupils in schools are being taught mostly theory rather than actual practices. This problem is shown by the fact that the proportion of experiment classes occupies a minimal percentage, compared to the total of courses in the school's syllabus. Another proof is that children are being assessed lack critical thinking. This results from the teaching method in which theoretical approaches are more highly esteemed than experimental ones. It is also significant to highlight that practical exposure plays a vital role in training progress because it provides visual understanding and helps pupils remember knowledge deeper, which is crucial for supporting them in higher education. And thus, lack of practical lessons, as a result, might lead to ineffective academic results.

The same issue remains for the higher level of education, university training system. Although undergraduate students are trained in a self-studying approach instead of concentrated classes, theoretical knowledge is still the majority. This measure causes a negative consequence that many students lack social skills essential to their future job. A typical instance for this is that, after graduation, many students fail in job interviews because they had never been instructed about this practical skill before. Moreover, the theory, which students are taught, is often not up-to-date compared to real things that happen in real life. This is true because the updating of educational books always needs time and financial investment. Nevertheless, the best way to fill the gap between knowledge in university and the practical situation is by learning experiment lectures.

In conclusion, at all levels of education, students and pupils are learned theoretical classes more than practical classes, which leads to a lack of necessary skills for higher training or job performance in the future. This issue needs to be improved by increasing practical exposure to reach a more effective education system.