Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, one of the most controversial issues has been learning practical and theoretical skills in the education systems. The majority of people believe that education systems attend to the instruction of practical skills more than facts while others have another opposite idea about this. From my perspective, learning both practical and theoretical skills have their pros and cons.

On the one hand, all pupils do not want to be technically skilled because modern societies need some theoretically knowledgeable people such as university professors. Ever since I remember, in all class in all level there were some students who were interested in being a teacher or lecturer. It should be considered that learning facts is the first step in learning practical skills. According to Dr. James Band, who is an educationalist in Iran’s ministry of education, “facts and theories are the result of either research or practical experience so studying about facts improves students’ knowledge to pave the way to be technically capable.”

On the other hand, students who are interest in being talented in technical matters have to learn excessive amount of facts and theories in the best learning period of their lives while they do not need these theoretical concepts as much as practical skills. Statistics show that 85 percent of technicians left schools when they were adolescents to learn practical skills in a real work place. The majority of learning centers spend their budget on paying teachers’ salaries instead of running training programs and workshops because they do not want to accept the responsibilities of preparing their students to be professional workers in societies. In an article which I studied some months ago, the fact that schools can play a significant role in teaching practical skills to students was well-explained.

In conclusion, in my opinion, there are merits and demerits of learning both theoretical concepts and practical skills. Learning facts helps students to develop a scientific background so they can learn practical skills move easily than others. On the contrary, students need to learn practical skills as many as facts because it is necessary to be a professional employee.