Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time in spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree ?

Few people have the viewpoint that during all stages of education, starting from primary schools to universities, focus is devoted more on educating facts and not much on learning real time implementation. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this fact, that we are somehow neglecting the importance of practicals in our education system.

All schools and universities are mandatory to have different types of laboratories set up like Physics, Chemistry, Computer and Engineering laboratories. So they would need to invest a large amount of money in setting them up, purchasing laboratory equipments, appointing skilled teachers and staff to operate and maintain them, which mostly becomes an overhead. In case of any equipment breakdown, institutes would need to arrange them on their own and no additional fees would be charged to the students, apart from school fees. Maintenance of such laboratories is generally quite high, so they prefer students to be more engaged in learning theoretical facts than practical skills.

In addition, institutes also need to take care of the safety measures into account, to prevent any accidents. Any mishappening, within the premises of a school or a college, can affect its reputation. Indirectly resulting in losses.

On the contrary, there are some elite institutes who do maintain balance in education, though the count of such institutes is quite low. They appoint dedicated staff and specialized teachers to operate and maintain them on a daily basis.

To conclude, I would strongly want all the institutes to provide a balanced education. Real time experience would encourage students to explore and understand real world things better.