Some people say that computer games are bad for children by all means, others believe that these games are contributing to children’s development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Few people hold the idea that digital games are not good for children in any way, whilst others disagree and holds the idea that computer games play an important role in the development of a child. this essay will look at this issue from both perspectives, followed by the reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, there are several rationales for considering computer games as a vital resource for children development. On the first hand, it improves cognitive ability of a child, for instance, based on levels of the game, viz. beginner, intermediate, or expert, it requires varying levels of thinking ability hence, contribute to cognitive development. Secondly, computer games have many different categories, such as action games, difficult puzzles, simulation, combat, and educational games. All of them requires abstract and high level of thinking ability hence, contributing in improving the memory, the learning ability of a child by making it fun and helps in increasing the attention span of a child. Moreover, digital games such as tennis or football can promote physic al activity among the children.

On the contrary, getting down to people concern about these games. firstly, a range of health issues are associated with such types of games chiefly, computer vision syndrome which causes headaches, blurred vision, and eyestrain and shoulder pain. According to a survey conducted by, American health association 4 out of 7 children are suffering from this syndrome because of excessive use of digital products for games. In addition, these games are directly serving as a source of wasting time hence resulting in poor academic grades of pupils.

To conclude, having analysed both the views it seems to me that besides it disadvantages computer games however plays a positive part in the development of a child.