Some people say that a country should produce food locally while others believe that it is good to import food To what extent do you agree or disagree Give your opinion and the relevant examples

Food production is one of the vital things that the government always needs to keep an eye on. When it comes to its source, there are two ways to either produce all the food locally or import from other countries. To a certain extend, local production surpasses import because of the economic boost; however, there are several benefits of food import which cannot be ignored.

Producing food within a nation carries more weight than importing from other countries because it can have enough food and no dependency on other nations. Coming to the first advantage, if the edible items are produced locally, people get enough food not only in enough quantity but also at a reasonable price. For example, the USA lacks the local production of wheat, resulting in a shortage of it frequently. Another benefit relates to the boost of the economy. For example, if a country has sugar production locally, it keeps the rates of it under control, and it results in a better state of the economy.

On the other side, the option of importing food has its pros. If a country imports food that is not available locally, it improves those two nations' trade relations. If the USA, for example, imports wheat from India, India, in return, will import food not available locally. Another significant importance of import is, any country cannot produce all the needed edible items locally because of the lack of natural resources.

After looking into both views, the local production option overweights the second choice because of the improvement of the economy and self-dependency. Be that as it may, because of some compulsions, import of food cannot be removed.