Some people say economic development is necessary to reduce the poverty in the world. Others say that economic growth should be stop immediately to stop damaging the environment. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent years, the rapid economic growth is gaining a great deal of attention around the world. Surprisingly, the role of economical growth has become a bone of contention among the critics owing to the development of environmental crisis along with positive contribution in curbing destitution. While some people consider deterring the growth of economy for subsiding the pollution, however, I would contend that it is a sine qua non for wiping out poverty.

On the one hand, it is inevitable that economical development is directly linked with the rapid industrialization. Owing to the rapid expansion in those segments, environmental pollution exceeds the tolerable limit and thereby starts creating expensive health hazards. Furthermore, gaining economical expansion results from the increased productivity in all sectors, including agriculture, power as well as wide range of industries. For this reason, a sudden spike appears in the extent of pollution resulted from increased use of chemical fertilizers and pesticides, presence of toxic fumes from the factories as well as burning fossil fuels for power generation. For instance, Bangladesh has gained a sustained economic growth in the last few decades compromising the quality of environment in a threatening level, reported in WHO bulletin this year.

Conversely, economical growth can be translated into increased per capita income. This means, undoubtedly, the people who are living even below the poverty line, are gaining financial freedom. Thus, the destitution issues are being resolved gradually and the livability index is being improved day by day. It is no surprise to see that the people of Bangladesh, for example, are earning more and spending more after the boom of industrialization in 2000.

All things considered, for protecting the environment, deterring the economical growth cannot be a proper approach. I personally believe, further in the future, the government should give more emphasis on economic freedom and expansion to sort out the destitution in a systematic method.