Some people say economic development is necessary to reduce the poverty in the world. Others say that economic growth should be stop immediately to stop damaging the environment. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Poverty is one of the major problems that the world is facing today. To decrease it, economic development seems the only way. While others would argue that economic development is harmful to the nature and it needs to stop, I believe it should not in order to help the humanity.

To begin with, developing the economy by establishing the industries, will help to counter the issue of poverty. It will create enormous amount of job opportunities for unemployed as well as poor people. Also government will have more money by taxes from these Industries. So it will be used to build houses and provide basic needs to poor people this way economic development can help to fight with poverty.

On the other hand, these Industries will increase the environmental issues. The exhaust gases from these Industries will create air pollution. In order to build more and more Industries, there will be need to cut down the trees. So the amount of Carbon Dioxide will also increase. As a result, it will lead to another major problem, global warming. Also chemical and other waste from these Industries will make water and land dirty.

But all these environmental problems can be controlled by successful efforts of the government such as making pollution related norms strict, shutting down only those Industries which are generating more pollution. Finding the effective way to use the alternative renewable energy sources in the industries by funding the research and development programmes. Thus, environmental issues connected to economic development can be reduced and we can use it to burn up the poverty.

To conclude, poverty can only reduced by economic growth. This creates some environmental problems but it can be solved by major steps of the government.