Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The growth of economic is a controversial problem in modern world. While some people argue it is the only possible way to abandon famine and poverty, whereas others dispute that we should forbid economic growth because it is gradually destroying the environment. In my opinion, I think that both statements have some reasonable argument and some illogical contention.

Although, economic development may have some great impact on the civilian’s lives but it is not the only factor controlling the proportion of destitution and starvation in the society. Economic growth may improve the living situation of citizens when the money value rises then people can afford their necessity. However, there are lots of other significant factors have remarkable effect on ending people’s poverty and hunger. For instance, the government’s policy of social welfare can enhance civilian’s living condition effectively and in a shorter time than economic growth.

In an environmentalist’s perspective, the growing tendency of economic can bring out a lot of disadvantages with the Mother Nature but we cannot depend on that reason to ban economic growth and denied all of its benefits. It is clear that the development of economic makes the deforestation becomes worse than ever and the air, noise and water pollution are more common. Nevertheless, it is inequality to blame the environment destruction only on the economic growth while there are abundant factors causing pollution such as transportation, edifice construction.

To conclude, people nowadays debate whether economic growth is the only solution to end poverty and famine or economic development is destroying the environment and need to be stopped. However, I disagree and agree partly with both arguments and highly recommend that instead of stopping economic growth, we should develop economic in a stable and environment-friendly way to reduce poverty and hunger and contemporaneously decline the negative impacts on the environment.