While the importance of science and technology can be felt in our day to day life because of its widespread usage, the role of history can not be neglected as history helps us in understanding our past and gives us innumerable lessons. In my opinion, I do not completely agree with the statement that science and technology are important than history and vice-versa for two reasons.

The modern world is running on science and technology. The inventions and advancements in science and technology have allowed humans to travel to the moon. In the field of computers, the scientist has developed supercomputers which can perform complex calculations with such ease. The amount of research and development in this sector has made it possible for people to have personal computers and has automated almost every sector.

Not only in the case of computers and types of equipment the science and technology have revolutionized the medical sector. From using nanotechnology to find the cure of non-curable diseases to the study of gene patterns to detect cancer, all this is possible with the help of science and technology. This field of science and technology touches almost every sphere of our life and we simply cannot ignore it. Therefore, it becomes very important for schools to incorporate the subject in the student's curriculum. However, simply ignoring other subjects becuase of the importance of science and technology would not be wise. For example, The Harrapan civilization had the best scientific developments, modern architecture at its time. Yet the civilization's marks are lost, they had all the scientific accomplishments and everything needed to strive. So what went wrong? The answers lie in history. The history of that period makes us understand what possibly went wrong and we do not repeat the same in our current times.

History helps in analyzing our past. History is full of lessons and answers, what were the traditions and culture of a particular civilization, how the great kingdoms fell, what war tactics were used, how and why people migrated from one place to another. It helps in identifying the possible mistakes the people of that time made, which can be taken as a reference. For example, history tells that India had great resources, significant army, and warfare, yet, Britishers colonized it on the principle of divide and conquer. The Britishers saw India had many small kingdoms that were always in competition with one another and used this rivalry for their own good. By dividing these small kingdoms, the Britishers were able to dominate for almost 200 years. This tactic was not only used in earlier times but it is also used in current times where political parties and leaders sometimes try to make statements favoring one section of society for their own political benefits.

Therefore, studying about past will not only help students to carefully analyze these mistakes but would also help in knowing the traditions, food, and culture of that times and help in assessing how the past traditions and culture paved the way for what we experience in the current times.

Further, even if we assume that history does not touch our lives the way science and technology do, some students might have their interest in studying history. By simply removing it from the student's curriculum would lead make the curriculum less flexible and students might have to choose science and technology simply becuase they don't have other choices. Therefore, to provide a flexible and learning environment, each subject should be given importance and simply not neglected on the basis of its application in current times.