In metro cities where land cost has increased manifolds, apartments are generally preferred for accommodation. Some people feel safe to live in the apartments as they are properly guarded whereas others feel loneliness as there is no common place to sit and talk with others. In this essay, I will discuss pros and cons of apartment living with my opinion.

To begin with, apartments are generally build by high end real estate companies, having definite plan to target the particular class of customers. For example, area where most of the business houses are set up, keeping in mind they build flats according to their liking whereas companies with numerous staff members like an Information technology park, they construct the apartment in affordable range so that most of them can afford and their apartment do not remain vaccant. Consequently, most prominent benefit is that a person is living around the people similar in status and income, so their is no cat race among them. Secondly, they are well furnished with furniture and other amenties of modern world, person did not need to purchase any additional things to decorate them. Last but not least, security point of view they are the safest of all the accommodations. They are often guarded by the security guards with very normal fees, as there are many apartments in the building share of the fees is generally very less.

On the other side, most of the apartments have no park or other recreational center, so elder people who remain confined to the home as they can not travel much, they do not have a space to do morning or evening walk. They get bored due to the loneliness they experience in these apartments. They are generally accessed through lifts though they even have staircase. But when lift stop working it is very difficult to reach the apartment especially in the top floor as to reach there one has to travel atleast 50 to 100 stairs. Moreover, absence of terrace is another major disadvantage because people love to spend afternoon at terrace in winter for sunshine, only option available for them now is small balcony most of them attract less or no sunlight.

Finally, after analysing the benefits and drawbacks of apartments, one feel it is a nice option to live in. Especially, when the safety is a biggest issue. Apartments is the only solution of housing for the ever increasing population, need is to adapt ourself so that we can live over there happily and also add few amenties to them so that it serves from yougsters to elder people.