Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines Should parents be made by law to immunize their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunize their children

Advent of vaccines has helped in checking many diseases. However, the vaccination is to be made mandatory or left to the parent to decide for their children is a debateable topic. In this essay, I am going to discuss both views and explain the neccesity of free and complusory medication for young ones.

To begin with, every year goverment chart many programmes to erradicate diseases. These include free vaccinations of pulse polio drops, small pox vaccination and yellow fever vaccine. As a result, India is declared polio free last year. So, results of forced vaccinations are real and positive. Moreover, not everyone has income to have vaccination done on their own. So, it is necessary that it is aided by the state. Secondly, due to illiteracy in rural area, most of the people are not aware of the benefits of vaccination. Hence, driven by the law they take their children to local hospitals for vaccination and reap the rewards of it.

On flip side, every year hundred of cases come forward where children suffer due to side effects of vaccination. Thus, making it necessary can have adverse affect on the society. Additionally, components of vaccination can be allergic to some people. So, proper care and test are required before vaccination. Therefore, final decision should be given to the family to decide.

In conclusion, for the betterment of the public it need to be a neccesity and goverment must run numerous programme to vaccinate the young ones. But, parents must hold the right to veto as they are best judge for their kids.