Mobile phones have become a necessary gadget for youngsters these days due to numerous uses it serves. In this essay I am going to discuss its pros and cons in accordance with my opinion.

21st century is a century of technology, mobile phone is an important invention that has drastically changed the way communication is used to be done earlier. Among the various benefits, first and foremost, it is a portable device which can be used to communicate with anybody arround the world at any place and at any time. So, it helps the person in emergency situations such as need a roadside assistance at remote place, or medical advice from family doctor on a holiday trip. Secondly, with internet connectivity it has become a one solution for many problems. Dictionary has been replaced with google search, newspaper with google news and watch with mobile timer. Thirdly, with social media applications on mobile phone, one can remain in contact with his friends, former colleagues and relatives. So, it has broken the international boundaries and bring the world closer.

On the flip side, it has deprived people from family time as each and everyone is engaged in their respective phones. Family talks have been replaced with chats, it has made inroads to the dinning table, usually dinner is used to be the ideal time for the family to discuss their mutual concerns. Further, it has decreased the memory power of younger generation as everything is being stored in the phone memory they do not feel the neccesity to remember things. Calculations which were earlier done manually is now being performed on calculator application. Last but not least, it has adverse effect on the eye sight of the users. Medical research has further proved that habitual users are on verge of loosing half of their sight by the age of 30.

In conclusion, mobile phone is a gift of technology to human beings, so we must learn to make best use of it. We must concentrate on its utilisations and eliminate its bad impact on human race. Then only its objective can be obtained.