Opinion of consumers seems to be divided when comes to the preference for domestic product over the imported ones. In my opinion, local onea should be preferred without compromising the quality. Further, in this essay I am going to explain the factors that decide the priority.

To begin with, in the era of e-commerce, the international products are easily accessible so there is lot of choice for the buyer to decide from. Generally, product should be purchased from the country where it is manufactured which results in low cost price. Secondly, domestic products are manufactured by keeping the local enviorment conditions in mind such as humidity and the temperature. Hence, local products are more durable. Finally, the import duty. The imported products are levied heavy import duty so they are expensive as compared to local one. At same price, a person can purchase better product with more exqusite features.

On flip side, certain countries have expertise in different technologies. For example, Hongkong is famous for electronics whereas Germany is famous for cars. Their products are preferred in their respective field all over the world. Moreover, european products are imported for their build quality because they are manufactured to target the rich class as purchasing power of their consumers is more as compared to average consumer power of our country. There are many other factors such as warranty, after sale service and return policy which fluctuates the mind of the public while zeroing the product.

In the conclusion, local goods shoulb be manufactured by keeping in mind the competition from the global market. Expectations of the consumer from the product are quite high. They want value for their money. So, in order to sustain in the market quality should be given top priority by the manufacturers and people should also give a honest chance to the local sellers so that they get a boost in highly competitive world.