Keeping animals in the zoo is a matter of debate. In this essay, I am going illlustrate benefits and drawbacks regarding this practise in the follwing paragraphs.

To begin with, there are many critics who are against the method of keeping wild animals confined in the cage. General arguments they provide are related to the basic animals rights, as we regard human rights important so are their rights, they also needs to be upheld. Moreover, animals in cage start loosing their nature traits for example lions are provided chopped meat due to which they lose their hunting abilities. Similarly, as there is no danger to deers and other such animals, they are not able to fully develop their defense mechanism against predators. Hence, animals in the zoo though they look like their natural species are not actual in real sense.

On the other side, numerous advantages of zoo cannot be ignored as well. Firstly, it provides opportunity for young childern and student to visualise the wild animals as they are not old enough to have a jungle safari. Curiosity developed in children, through these visits, to know about the wildlife generate interest in them to love and protect it. Secondly, animals are twenty four hours under the supervision of experts, any shortcomings to their health is noticed and cured at the earliest. So, it is one of the better options to preserve the endangered species. Last but not least, it helps in understanding the animal behaviour which futher helps in coexistence of humans and animals. Generally, some animals from their appearance looks very ferocious, but have very gentle nature with public. Thus, gives new options to the pet lovers to figure out which animals can be domesticated.

Finally, understanding advantages and disadvantages of zoo, it can be concluded that animals should be kept where they feel comfortable and secure. So, zoo should be limited to small domesticated animals so that children can understand the life diversity whereas big animals should remain in jungle where they naturally thrives.