Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people are of the opinion that music is a good source to unite people, despite having diverse cultures and ages. I strongly disagree with this point of view for two main reasons; language barriers and choice of music based on generational disparity.

The first reason I tend to believe why it is not a likable way to connect people from various ages is the difference in music preferences of the old and new generation depending upon their period of popular music. Before the modern instruments were invented, the earlier contemporaries were much more inclined towards the kind of music that had meaningful lyrics. Moreover, it has also been observed that people with older traditions complain about the type of music youngsters are currently addicted to. For instance, having carried out recent research, it is analyzed that 90% of the people from the current generation would choose to listen to rap rather than slow and classical music. Thus, music can not help diminish this generational gap among people.

Secondly, not only the culture but also the language is an intangible barrier to interact with foreigners. Despite the fact that music is not as semantically concrete as language, every musical phrase creates a specific emotion that can only be followed by the people with a similar mode of communication. In addition to that, the range of music is quite wide so it provides people an option to select the music they understand. Another example is the study that is conducted at the University of Alberta; it proves that language is one of the main criteria on which the popularity of music relies on. As a result, people select the kind of music that feels familiar to their soul and thus is not a good measure to join them together.

To conclude, although some people might believe that music has the ability to reduce the distance among several nations, I am still persuaded that it actually has more to do with the division among them. It has been discussed in this essay that language barriers and generation gap can have a strong influence on the preferences of music.