Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People argue that the main reason evolve around learning other languages are due to frequent mobility from one country to another country either for mobility or for work purposes. While others have contentions that other factors are also encouraging people to seek foreign languages. I also believe that work and travel are the reasons of learning foreign languages. The author will discuss both the views and put his opinion forward as well.

Undoubtedly, people nowadays are habitual of travelling than in the past. This could be for leisure activities, advance studies or for business commitments. Having command on international language help people to easily communicate to the foreign people. Nevertheless, some countries feel offended if you do not speak their language. As a personal experience, I visited Italy and there I went to a restaurant. I saw a menu board hanging on the wall with menus written in English and same was translated in their Italian. At the bottom they wrote that please see the translation and order your food in Italian language. It seemed to me that they were not welcoming the people who do not speak their language. Foreign language is therefore now equally important as English to make your life more comfortable.

As far as work is concern, people migrate other countries for work opportunities that are offering by the government of that country or the employer who has established their business in that country. For example, in Sweden, if you have a good knowledge of Swedish than you certainly have an edge over others even though your opponent has higher qualification. Not just that but it also helps you get promotions in your work environment. Let's say you are working in a sales department and you need to persuade your clients to use your company products. So now there is a greater chance that you influence your customers if you have that language skill. Eventually more customers from your end means more profit and ultimately appraisals.

However, personal interest is also could be the reason convincing people to learn the other international languages. Like many education institutions are now commencing the classes of international languages. These languages are not compulsory but all are welcome to participate. These inductions entice students or older people to initiate these courses and learn them with interest. These people believe that there is no certain age of learning.

I believe that work and travel covers all the situation. There is no specific reason for people to study International tongues. Having said that interest does not count in necessary items so therefore should be excluded. Interest itself can be developed by using these languages in their daily lives.