Some people say that the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be useful to society. Others say its purpose is to prepare individuals to achieve personal ambitions.

Discuss these views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the purpose of educational system. While some think that the main aim of schools is to educate people so that they serve society, I side with those who believe that the purpose of education is to bring up well-formed personalities.

On the one hand, people are born to be useful to society. Universities and institutions give an opportunity to students to help other people by leading students to their future career. Therefore, doctors, nurses and surgeons sometimes sacrifice their health in order to help others. As an example due to COVID-19 during the pandemic, doctors had to work excessively. Besides, graduates are believed as the social agents who bridge the society and government in terms of making society based policy. Hence, the national government urges the universities to enrich the students with the sense of nationalism in order to educate a generation that cares about society. For instance Indonesian Government requires universities to provide nationality subject for first-year students.

On the other hand, if a person is not formed as an individual, he will not be able to serve society in a proper way. In other words individuals need to build themselves and achieve their own goal in order to give something to others. For example if person`s aim to be a businessman and philanthropist at the same time they need to build professional career first in order to donate money. If people do not work on themselves and first of all do not realize their dreams, they will never be able to be fit for society.

To sum up, I personally think that purpose of education preparing well-developed personality, however knowledge without devotion equals to zero. It is the sense of devotion which encourage individuals to achieve their education for the sake of benefiting others