Some people say taxes should be spent on health care. Other people say that there are more important priorities for taxpayers’ money. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Increasing population has put immense pressure on the health care system of many developing countries such as India. Leading to a debate whether revenue collected by government should be spent on health care or on other priorities such as education, housing and defense. According to me, spending resources only on healthcare would be incorrect as other sectors are equally vital for development of citizens and their safe keeping.

Healthy citizens is a sign of healthy society, which is crucial for development of a nation. Firstly, the rapid growth of population in the last three decades has led to diseases such as Tuberculosis, which has claimed life's of more than one lac citizens annually in India. Secondly, medical treatments are becoming increasingly expensive and are beyond the reach of a common man. Therefore, it is suggested by some citizens that tax money should be spent on healthcare. So that, affordable hospitals can be built and basic treatments can be provided free of cost.

Others believe government should spend it on education and housing, as most of the citizens fall ill due to lack of education about personal hygiene and living in unhygienic conditions because they are cheap to rent or own. This can help in reducing the current burden on the health care system. Moreover, defense is considered of prime importance in today's day and age. Most of the countries are on the brink of war, either for trade or due to refugee crisis. Hence, it is necessary to spend on defense infrastructure to safe guard the borders as well as its citizens.

In my opinion, government should allocate equally for all sectors. Prioritizing anyone would be incorrect, as they are equally important for the well being of citizens and the nation.