Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is useful only for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that television is beneficial to acquire knowledge while others believe that it can only be used for entertaining people. While television provide a myriad of information about science and wildlife, I believe that it is a great source of enjoyment in the life of people.

On the one hand, television plays a vital role in imparting knowledge about science and history. That is to say, there are many educational channels that broadcast information related to the evolution of mankind and historical concepts. As a result, children get a chance to broaden their horizon of knowledge by understanding different concepts through visual media platform. For example, channels such as Discovery and National Geographic are quite popular among teenagers because it helps them to inculcate plethora of scientific information, which is advantageous for their holistic development. However, In my opinion, this approach is not advisable because advertisement telecasted on television shows often distract learners from understanding knowledge.

On the other hand, many people consider television as a significant tool for entertainment because it helps them to release stress of their routine life. In other words, as there are a myriad of music and drama shows available, which are being streamed on high definition documentaries, these programs tend to entice majority of population to watch television in their leisure time. For example, In India around two third of total population prefer to watch television series in their spare time because they find it as an economical way to burn stress of life. Therefore, I believe that this school of thought is highly adopted because television media brings a wide range of enjoyable movies and music programs.

In conclusion, although television has a positive impact on individuals by acquisition of informative knowledge, I assert that it provides men and women an opportunity to shed burnout and pressure of professional work and domestic responsibilities.