Some people say that too much attention and too many resources are given in the protection of wild animals and birds. Do you agree or disagree about this opinion?

Some people think that a lot of attention and many efforts has been put into the preservation of birds and dangerous animals. I strongly agree with this notion and my reasons will be further explained.

Firstly, these are wild animals that give little or nothing to the growth of the economy hence, putting too many resources into protecting them should be avoided. For instance, studies show that the Lagos state government allocates about ten million naira annually for feeding these dangerous species at the Ikeja game reserve meanwhile, the revenue generated from visitors at the centre barely amounts to one million naira in a year. since the return is ridiculously low, it shows that too much has been given and less gotten.

Furthermore, the species been kept out of harms way are actually largely harmful to humans and can cause death if they are mistakenly released into the community. Therefore, time and money should not be invested into safeguarding their lives. For example, there was a situation sometime in 1993, where a lion broke out of the Ibadan zoo. The guard could not restrict the lion as soon as it got out and it was quick enough to tear the first person on it its path into shreds. The person died instantly.

In conclusion, the school of thought that says that too much has gone into preserving wild species have the same belief as mine since they cause harm to the society and do not help in increasing the country's finances. The concerned authorities should as a result, set up a committee to check its continuation.