Some people think foreign visitors should be charged more than local people when they visit the cultural and historical attractions in a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that tickets for historical sites and centers for culture presevation should be sold at a higher price to foreign tourists than it is being sold to local visitors. I strongly agree that this should be so and the reasons will be presented in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the locals, being nationals of the country would have contributed to the development of these tourist centers in the form of paying taxes to the government. This is because; the funding of attraction and cultural sites is solely dependent on tax payer’s money. For example, Every national is obligated to pay taxes to the government and this cuts across both the private and public sector. The annual budget allocation of the country Nigeria, for the year 2018, shows that it is money generated from taxes for the previous year that is being allocated to cater for these needs.

In other words, the government of a nation spends much more money in preparing the ground to receive foreign tourists. Reason being that the foreigners may have special needs such as; need for interpreters, sign posts to show directions in and around the centers, and a bit of renovation of the place to make it look presentable to the people that will be seeing it for the first time.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that ticket fees should be higher for foreigners than communal members in tourist and cultural centers, since the locals have fulfilled their obligations in taxes and the government of the nation has to prepare to receive the foreign visitors.