Some people say that the vertical city is best where people live and work in tall buildings. others say that horizontal city is better where

there are few tall buildings. Discuss both sides and give Your own opinion.

As the population is rising at the global level, and the cities are getting over-crowded, the planners are in a dilemma as to which way to spread. The traditional method is the horizontal expansion in which cities grow outwards, whereas in vertical spread cities grow upwards. This essay intends to explain both perspectives.

The concept of “vertical city” is fascinating and attracting many people due to various reasons. In this building, a large number of people can be accommodated. As it is a fact that the population is burgeoning, by 2050, 75% of people will live in cities. The land is scarce, hence going for vertical towns seems to be a viable solution.

Secondly, such cities can be confined to limited space, and this helps to conserve the farm-land and green park, which is the heart of the community. Also, managing and maintaining waste, water supply and providing electricity in such a small space is an easy task. Additionally, such buildings are beautiful.

On the other hand, the supporters of the traditional horizontal building spread of the cities cite a host of benefits. Mainly such small rise buildings are better to survive natural calamities like earthquake. Also, to construct such massive buildings builder’s don’t need to have so many skills, whereas, those skyscrapers required a lot of knowledge as those buildings need to withstand an earthquake and wind force which is not every builder’s cup of tea. Hence, horizontal structures are economical.

Moreover, those living in horizontal cities are having a better quality life compared to vertical towns, as they have enough space to do their extra-curricular activities like gardening. Also, they are being exposed to more natural light, ventilation and even the competition is fewer.

To sum up, the present dream of people is to have an independent house, but sooner or later they have to move to the vertical cities to meet the growing demand of the population.