Some people say that when children under 18 are committing a crime they should be punished, while others believe they should be educated. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion.

Juvenile crime has been an outstanding issue through recent years. Although some people may be in favor of punishing the offender straightaway, regardless of the age of the criminal, I believe that youngsters would better experience alternative measurements to be deterred from committing crime in the future.

First of all, I personally don't perceive penalties could be effective in case of adolescents, since they are most likely to have broken the law unknowingly. The young or even adult people are not aware of all legislations at some points. Similarly, they might have committed the crime under a wicked friend's influence and unwillingly. Therefore, prison sentences or other kinds of punishment, not only would not be able to make underage criminals turn their lives over, but also may give them the opportunity to meet other defenders and become familiar to other types of crime.

Furthermore, placing young people who have committed crime in educational environments would take them away from corrupted situations as well as help them to change their lives for better. The educational environment is not restricted to schools or universities, necessarily. One way to educate juvenile criminals could be to force them to have a relevant job to their crime. For example, if they have shoplifted, they would be employed as a shop security. Under secretly supervision, though. This situation would help them to improve their personality and enhance their self-confidence.

In conclusion, even though some people would fear punishments and find them deterrent from acting against laws, young people would need education to be stopped from being a law-breaker rather than penalties.