Whether under-18-offenders should reserve their sentences or be educated has evolved as a heated topic of controversy. While I consent to the constructive impact of punishment, I opine that they should be educated as well.

One the one hand, the highly presumably reason is the issue of a deterrent effect of punishment, whereby young offenders possibility would not become the potential criminals. This means that if juvenile delinquents do not encounter the result of what they do, it is highly likely, the criminal activity will be repeated, leading to a malicious crime eventually. A good illustration of this is clearly delineated by shoplifting done by young criminals. This is a where that punishment can play a useful part to curb the young offenders to not fall prey to criminal activities later on. Therefore, in order to tackle such petty crime committed by delinquents, the penal system should sentence them through fine and community services. This, in itself, may lay the groundwork for becoming actual law-abiding citizens.

On the other hand, punishment is not the only viable factor in this respect. Another paramount alternative is delivering educational programmes to educate minutiae of the existing law. To put it differently, it is believed that educational programmes are bound to be a keystone of behaviour based on codes of conduct, thereby absorbing the ground rules in society by perpetrators. Furthermore, the more a young offender is forewarned about his/her consequent doing, the less he/ she commit a crime or become involved in habitual criminals. This, in turn, to those who commit the crime and show little respect for the legal system might make a somehow differences to rehabilitate.

To conclude, regarding acknowledging the substantial role of punishment and education with references to criminals under 18, I would embrace that both of these alternatives possess a quality worthwhile aiming for obviating deep-rooted criminal activity among young children.