Some people spend a lot of money for their wedding ceremonies. However, others feel like it is unnecessary to spend a lot.

Discuss both view points and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Wedding is considered to be the most auspicious day in everyone’s life. One of the most controversial questions of today’s society is whether a wedding should be performed in a lavish style or it should be simple with minimal expenses. The following essay will discuss both views before reaching a conclusion.

To begin with, proponents of big weddings have their own reasons to justify this trend. Nowadays, marriages are linked with social standards. For example, presently, families want to show the world their status by investing a huge chunk of amount on marriage-related activities like decorations, hiring 5-star hotels, destination weddings, etc. So, in order to impress society, people end up incurring a massive amount on weddings. Similarly, some couples want it to be a memorable event in their life. Therefore, being incapable of doing arrangements themselves, families look for hiring professionals like wedding planners. Apart from that, there is an impressive contribution of the wedding industry for encouraging such weddings. Their way of promotions and innovative ideas lures people to hire them and subsequently indulging in spending money carelessly.

However, the opponents of grand weddings consider marriage as a reflection of culture and heritage. For example, following traditional rituals are of great value for this group and it is cost-effective. Secondly, they consider saving money for future generations. For example, many people consider court marriages as it will be economical and the saved amount can be utilized for their new chapter of life. Thirdly, considering the increase in inflation, many people opine that unnecessary wastage of money on marriages should not be appraised.

To conclude, admittedly, a wedding is the most auspicious ceremony in our life. But, in recent years, it is considered a matter of reputation and pride. In my opinion, hard-earned money should be wisely spent, and tying a knot should be simple and a private affair.