Some people tell that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase the tax on petrol (gasoline). Would advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Increasing congestion and pollution is a pressing issue for city dwellers. Some people feel rising fuel prices and tax can curb this issue. However, I still believe other renewable resources and better road design can outweigh the drawbacks of inflation of petrol prices.

On the one hand, I concede that growing petrol prices would mitigate traffic problems in short term. As people will switch to public transports and it will keep road congestion free from lots of vehicles. It could be argued that only rich people would not get affected by the elevation of taxes and petrol price, whereas other class of people will face difficulty. Moreover, daily commutations will rely on public transports which can even cause delay at their workplace. Nevertheless, using more mass transit can save the environment from pollution.

However, although the upside of inflation of fuel price is a real concern, some group of people advocates that other renewable sources of energy should be encouraged such as electronic bikes, CNG vehicles and so on. Such green energy project should be supported by government and more research need be carried out in a field of bio-fuel and eco-friendly vehicles which will minimize pollution. Further, to avoid congestion emphasis should be given on well-planned road designs and high-level engineering of fly-overs, due to which travelers can save time and traffic jams will also be diminished. Also, expanding bridges and tunnels is a wise initiative than hiking petrol prices.

To conclude, although I admit that rising petrol or diesel price is sometimes essential, the pollution free transport and superior routing people receive from CNG vehicles and advanced engineering are invaluable. Therefore, I agree that the disadvantages of increasing fuel price outweigh the advantages.