Some people that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that fixed sentences should be given for every offense whereas other claim that situation and motives should be considered before the final verdict will be reached by a judge. This essay will discuss both points of views.

Proponents of certain and fixed punishment advocate this idea because they believe this measure would decrease the corruption in judicial system. If a rigid sentence for each crime is implemented, it will ensure that convicts will not be able to receive lower sentences than they deserve if they bribe people of power in a court. For example, a local newspaper presented an article about a prominent figure in Russian politics. This person was penalized with a insignificant fee for defrauding a large amount of money from the state budget which was considered as unjust imposition by many lawyers given the severity of the crime and questions about corruption were raised.

However, it’s imperative that all factors of an illegal act should be taken into account to deliver a righteous verdict, otherwise realization of such rule will result in unfair judgment for many people. For instance, killing in self-defense and premeditated murder should not be given the same punishment because motives of the illegal act are utterly different. An individual who defense his life and kills his attacker does not deserve an equal condemnation with that who commit homicide to obtain money or merely for pleasure. Moreover, the scale of crime should also be considered. Stealing in a convenient store is a less heavy offense than a bank robbery because it causes less harm to an owner . Therefore the robber should receive a longer term of imprisonment than a thief.

To conclude, although it’s argued that judicial system has to be corrected and the measure of fixed punishment applied in order to prevent corrupted decisions made by courts, I support the point of view of fair and civilized judgment. I believe it’s far more crucial to have a fair judgment for all crimes than an attempt to tackle corruption by such categorical way.