Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Choosing a useful stream of study is always a vital issue among people. Some argue that children should be studying subjects at the University that can be proved beneficial for them in the future, while others believe that students should have the freedom to select subjects of their choice, and I entirely agree with the latter assertion.

People, who hold the view that students should only be studying science and technology at the University, assume that having expertise in these fields will provide youth with the more career opportunities as more and more countries are developing and seeking individuals with more knowledge in this sector. Also, it will benefit them financially as it is often seen that professionals working in science and information technology earn a massive amount of salaries which help them in leading a luxurious lifestyle.

Nevertheless, the opponents advocate studying a subject of the choice of a student at the University and, I also agree with this. They argue that every youngster mostly study each subject until their secondary school education, so they are fully aware of their capabilities, interest and strengths in any particular subject and they would like to explore more in that chosen area. The University study can be used to go in depth in that selected subject. Additionally, pressurising youngster to only focus on science and technology even if they are not good at it, can bring out adverse consequences not only for the future career of the student and can affect them mentally as well.

Furthermore, It is wrong to assume that only learning science or technology can enable them to lead a wealthy lifestyle. There are other are that can fulfil this demand too. For example, an artist working in the film industry usually receive ten times more money than an average person. On the top of that, often the job market is unpredictable, and it is hard to assume that what skills can be needed for the growth of a country. So, without a doubt, students should be allowed to pursue a study in their field of interest at the Universities.

To conclude, although it seems very beneficial to study science and technology at the University, I strongly suggest students excel in the areas of their choices through tertiary education.