Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that all tertiary level students should choose subjects of their interest, while others would say that they should only be permitted to study specialties which will be beneficial in the future such as engineering and medicine. Although the undergraduates achieve higher grades in the courses of their choice, I believe that subjects related to science and technology will be more useful for their career.

On the one hand, the scholars gain higher marks if they will be allowed to study whatever they like. This is because they read these topics with passions and interest, and it leads to a better understanding of concepts. For example, according to a recent report published by the Delhi University, the average score of students who studied subjects of their wish was 10% higher than those who took courses without having any interest in it. However, I believe that students career does not only depend on grades but on the usefulness of their branch of study on the development of the society.

On the other hand, subjects such as math, physics, and biology enable students to get employment just after completing studies. That is to say that these streams are in demand in the job market because the people having knowledge of science and technology can help companies in developing useful products. For example, in Japan, most engineering undergraduates got job offers from various organizations even before completing their respective degrees.

To conclude, while the students get a higher percentage in college degrees if they will pursue subjects of their interest, I believe that students should be allowed to study those subjects which will be more useful in their career.