Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When a pinch of salt is not good enough, people add a little more. Similarly, keeping the same principle in mind, many believe, when the rate of delinquency comes to the brim, adding a little more sentence may help in keeping the situation under the thumb. Well, I am in complete disaccord with the statement, and in the lines to come, I will be discussing why, and what are the other means to make crime abate the society.

Where, prison is believed to be a source of redemption for the prisoners, at the same time it is also reflected as hell on earth, to build up fear in the hearts of the most ruthless and astute outlaws. On the contrary, it has been depicted through many movies and there have been countless reviews advocating against the long-time people spend in jail. Primarily, this abominable confinement is a quintessential paradigm of crime school; where novices are juxtaposed with veterans of diabolical epitome, and crime flourishes with the cultivation of fresh blood. Furthermore, this evil incubator is often acknowledged as a second home, among the jailbirds; making it ineffective to create a smog of apprehension in the society. Therefore, prolonging any sentence will only aggravate the situation and impose an extra burden on the commonwealth.

In retrospect of the citation above, it is quite evident that ameliorating the ever-increasing felony and transgression demands alternate solutions. Subsequently, I am listing the following steps that can bring a positive revolution in the crime-filled communities and states. Firstly, identifying the root cause of increased crime and rectifying accordingly can actually put a lid on the situation once for all. For instance, diminishing illiteracy, through subsidizing education; abdicating poverty, by means of social welfare schemes; and intimidating infracting majority, with more harsh punishments and hefty fines. Secondly, liberties adjunct with main legislation, facilitating the perpetrators, must be abrogated to pave the way of true comeuppance. Additionally, law enforcers must get attractive incentives from the government so as to arrest for justice and not for a bribe.

To conclude, society nowadays needs a complete system overhaul with myriad upgrades and this is only possible through public awareness and reformulation of various legislations. Also, there is a dire need of law implementation from police, which is only possible through lucrative salaries and perk packages. Finally, in my opinion, giving a long sentence is not a solution to ever-escalating mischiefs, and if it is inevitable then a death sentence seems a better option.