Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, the rate of crime is ever increasing ,even many countries have raised concern. While it is considered by some that the effective method to reduce crime is to prolong jail sentence, others argue that there are other measures that can put in place to curd the menace. Although both views have valid points that are worth discussing, I think other method should be explored.

On the one hand,some people believe that link jail terms act as a form of rehabilitation for the offenders. In other words, criminals are place on various training in the prison yard involving hard labour which would re-orientate and deter them from subsequent offence.when they are released to join the society. For instance, a study done in New Zealand by the criminal investigation agency showed that long prison term led to reduction in crime over 2 decades to 0.2%. Therefore, enforcing long prison sentence would discourage intending criminals to stay away from crime.

On the other hand, some individuals cited other alternative measures to combat crime rate which I agree. First and foremost, criminals ought to be subjected to community service. This is an opportunity for the offenders to give back to the society positively. For example,in india criminals are forced to sweep the streets and dispose waste of residents. Thus, crime had decreased drastically. Furthermore, provision of youth centre can engage them not to get involved in crime.

In conclusion, although both arguments have goods reason for and against long prison stay,I think other methods to reduce crime should be explore.