Some people think the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family run business?

It is believed that involving family members into business is the best way to do business. This approach has both benefits and drawbacks.

The main reason why people support the notion that running a business with relatives is beneficial is because family members usually have a better understanding of each other. Undoubtedly, most families are aware of their strong and weak sides. Therefore, they can create a better business structure and place a more suitable person in each position in the company. Another reason there is the sense of belonging that all workers have because it is their family's business. Indeed, people are more willing to work harder if they know that their family will benefit from the development.

On the other hand, there are a few disadvantages of doing business with family. Firstly, it is not a rare situation when all important positions in the company are held by family members. However, sometimes person was employed without the required skills and knowledge, and have this position only because of family bonds. Inevitably, this can lead to serious problems in business. Secondly, family problems can affect work relationships. Arguing between siblings, for example, might cause unhealthy competition at work and decrease business profits.

In conclusion, although family business has its benefits, such as understanding and having the same goal, there are some disadvantages as well. Family relationships and business relationships can have negative effects on each other.