Some experts believe that is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Traditionally, children start learning a foreign language at secondary school. However, it is believed that they should begin this at primary school. This approach has both benefits and drawbacks.

Undoubtedly, pupils are more enthusiastic and energetic in their earlier school ages than in their teenage time. Children tend to be interested in obtaining knowledge so it is easy to teach them a foreign language in a play form. Furthermore, pupils can pick up different languages faster and more productive in primary school because their mother tongue has not been developed completely yet. Besides, being bilingual as a child can help to learn foreign languages easier as an adult. Indeed, foreign language should be included in a primary school curriculum in order to enhance children's development and give them useful skills for the future.

Nevertheless, some people argue that additional subjects in primary school can overload the school schedule and cause harm to children. Not only would language lessons change children's educational load but also they would affect a school's policy and budget. Subjects at primary school usually are held by one teacher for one group. Undoubtedly, some teachers can have limited knowledge of foreign languages. Therefore, schools would hire special teachers for language lessons. Not many schools can afford this. In fact, caused pressure on teachers and young pupils should be taken into account in this case.

In conclusion, foreign language lessons at primary school have numerous advantages and a few serious drawbacks. However, the school's policy and curriculum can be changed to improve children's knowledge and learning abilities. In my opinion, the benefits of this approach overweigh its disadvantages.