Some experts believe that is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Traditionally, children have started learning a foreign language at secondary school. However, some educational institutions include foreign language lessons in a curriculum for primary school pupils. This development has already shown its benefits and shortcomings.

To begin with, children at an early age are capable to pick up different languages easier and faster than in their teenage period. This is because children's mother tongue has not settled down and is still being developed. Therefore, it is a perfect time to include a foreign language in an educational process. The flexibility of the primary school curriculum there is advantageous. Educators can include a few short sessions of different languages in a game form. This approach allows pupils to enjoy the learning process and stay focused, enthusiastic and motivated all day long. In addition, it is undoubted that being bilingual as a child enhances the ability to learn other languages as an adult. Indeed, studying languages at primary school also improves children's understanding of other cultures and their desire to obtain knowledge.

Nevertheless, there are some disadvantages as well. First of all, subjects at primary school usually are held by one teacher for a group. Unfortunately, most teachers have limited skills and knowledge of foreign languages. Therefore, schools have to hire additional educators for language lessons. This can affect a school's budget and the flexibility of the curriculum. Another noticeable drawback there is the diversity of languages and their different levels which children bring to secondary school. Pupils have difficulties continuing studying language after primary school and, as a result, they can lose interest in it. In fact, the possibility to lose schedule flexibility and children's motivation to study languages should be taken into account in this case.

In conclusion, foreign language lessons at primary school have numerous advantages and a few serious drawbacks. Undoubtedly, studying languages at an early age is more beneficial than disadvantageous. In my opinion, the shortcomings can be worked out to give children the opportunity to become more successful adults.