Some people think that big international sporting events are not worthwhile for the host country. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that large international athletic competitions are not cost effective for a country conducting the event. I partly agree that in terms of finances the conduction of these kind events may not be profitable.

First of all, preparation for a huge sport event frequently includes construction of new sport objects such as arenas, jump ramps, swimming-pools and Olympic villages. Additionally, security measures should be strengthened as many international tourists are arriving during the competitions. Thus, a hosting country waists a huge amount of money for preparations from the budget. Moreover, there is no guarantee that the profit from arriving tourists to will cover the expenses. In fact, the conduction of such events as Olympic Games brings losses to the budget.

However, in long term hosting a large athletic event may attract more tourist after the end of a competition. This is because many people around the world will be aware about the hosting country due to advertising campaign. Thus, the profile of a hosting country will be increased which is beneficial in terms of economy and number of future tourists arriving to the country. For example, cities, which host the Olympics, can be assured of a persistent increase in recognition and tourism. Barcelona, Sydney, Beijing have all seen this from hosting the Olympics. As well as this, the several years of planning and investment will help create jobs and can revitalise depressed cities.

In conclusion, hosting a major sporting event may be unworthy in the short-term; meanwhile it can bring many social and economic benefits in the long-term. In my opinion, pros and cos of conducting massive athletic competition should be carefully considered on a case-by-case basis.