Some people think that big international sporting events are not worthwhile for the host country.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals perceive governments holding worldwide sport competitions worthless since it is waste of money and time. Due to the fact that these events usually destroy country’s economy and create traffic jam in the city I strongly agree with the given statement.

It goes without saying that organizing sport Olympics requires large amount of funds. As a matter of fact, money spent on these events are the money collected from taxes paid by employees. Obviously this creates persons to who think that what is quite important is to spend those funds for humanity instead of entertainment. Striking example is that in Azerbaijani population think that it is people in need of humanitarian aid and orphan kids who should get those funds for building houses and hospitals for them. In other words, this money could be spent in logical manner, especially for third world countries with evolving economy.

By the same token, during Olympics cities usually get crowded which therefore creating a lot of obstacles for transportation. In fact In Azerbaijan new road regulations state that cars cannot pass through left road line since it is planned to be used by event busses only which generates rush hours and workers are thus spend twice time on commute. Apart from it, pupils and students getting hard time in going to school due to traffic jams. Overall, these events disrupt the city balance due to large amount of tourist coming abroad. Besides, annoying part of it is that governments always held this events in capital cities instead of rural areas.

In conclusion, I totally agree that organizing sport events has no value for countries since it has negative impact on country economy requiring a lot of funds and also creates traffic jams which generate commute problems for population. Therefore, it is better to spend money reserved for these events for humanitarian needs and orphan kids.