Some people think books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree?

Two days ago, there was an article about the significance of books in modern world. The author suggested that they will become obsolete as a source of enlightenment and enjoyment. Thus essay will discuss both sides and agree with the writer of the article.

Let us start the reasons of why books will become less popular. The first cause is a growth in preference for playing video games. In contrast to books, computer games are more appealing, since they are abundant in variety as well as special effect, so many children spend most of their leisure in the digital world. As well as computer games, many students use to the internet to conduct research. Instead of sitting in the library to collect information, classmen tend to exploit the web, because it is faster and more convenient in usage. Moreover, many people often learn from online lessons. In Kazakstan, people often study, for instance, the english language on YouTube website, because they can watch native speakers and real dialogues, which books cannot offer.

However, internet users think that books will become things of the past. They justify their opinion with the fact that people rely more on books as an authentic source of information. Books undergo the verification process before they go to publication, while websites often contain either distorted or fake information. In addition, readers can always use books as entertainment. Electronic devices heavily depend both on electricity and internet connection; therefore, people cannot use them when they are away from civilization, whereas books are their complete opposite. Furthermore, books cause little damage to eyes. Unlike digital screens, books barely worsen human vision, which makes them more attractive for those with sight impairment.

In conclusion, even though some book supporters claim that books will always hold its significant, I think humans will gradually stop using paper sources as both data and amusement.