Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Two days ago, I read an article about the quick spread of shopping centers in Karaganda region. The author claimed that this spread drives individual entrepreneurs to cease their activity in the local market. This leads one to wonder whether this cease may have a deadly effect on society. This essay disagrees with this point of view for the following reasons.

The first reason is that supermarkets provide employment. The closure of individual business may leave many locals out of work, but supermarkets will offer them jobs. Since they need workers to maintain their department stores and deliver products to them on regular basis, the local people do not need to leave the area. For example, many people, in Karaganda city, abandoned their decision to the leave the city because of growing unemployment, once the supermarkets, which replaced small business, hired as accountants, sellers, porters and security guards.

Another reason why local community can survive regardless of local business being destroyed by supermarkets is the indirect connection between this destruction and local society. Even though the local entrepreneurs stop existing, the local community will withstand this since it is also connected by other aspects of society, such as local traditions, customs, language, and history. For example, in Karaganda city, even though multinational companies swallowed small companies in the region in 2002, regional congregations not only have survived, but also have thrived and grow in size so far.

However, some sociologists state that local societies will disappear along with the local business. The main reason for this opinion is that the end of local companies will result in a rise in unemployment. The joblessness will force many people to find jobs in other regions, leaving only few people working in these malls. Despite this, supermarkets will be able to employ all jobless people in the region to discourage the desire for abandoning the region.

In conclusion, after analyzing, it is clear that although the spread of shopping malls may cause local business to terminate their activity, there is no threat to local communities because the link between business and society is negligible. In addition to the link, the appearance of supermarkets in the region may attract more investors.