As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an issue about machine translation. Some interpreters argue that computers are more productive. This essay disagrees with their viewpoint.

Let us with the reasons why some linguists state that machine translators are much more effective than human ones. The first reason is that it often takes years to master other languages. To gain fluency, for instance, in English, future linguists commonly spend more then four years, but online converters does not need to study at university and, subsequently, practice it in English-speaking countries. Another reason is that foreigners usually understand the outcome of translation. In ordinary situation, guests, who come from other nations, can easily comprehend what computers translate, because programs normally takes into account the basic level of the target language in the process of interpretation. Furthermore, computers change from one language to another immediately. Translators mainly translate a sheet of text for one hour, but, in contrast, computers can do it in one second, which makes translation more efficient.

However, some college teachers claim that it is still necessary to teach foreign languages at schools. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, computing machines often omit important details. They generally pay attention to neither phrasal verbs nor idioms, which are crucial in the spoken language, so in such cases human interpretation is more preferable. Secondly, computerized programs usually use the common of languages. Mostly machines are less productive in generating academic language than linguists, so scientists resort to human services, when it comes to high quality translation. Moreover, programs usually translate without emotions. It requires linguists to convey feelings, as computers have no ability to transmit the emotional state of a speech, which is significant in international gatherings.

In conclusion, although some linguists believe that human interpretation is superfluous because of computer convertors, I think that people with fluency in the foreign language are more effective, when it comes to quality.