Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, local convenience stores and enterprises are inevitably disappearing because of spreading of supermarkets in a fast pace and disability of small shops and ventures to stand the competition. There is an opinion that this trend will lead to disappearance of local communities. I totally disagree with this point of view; in fact, it may even improve the quality of life of a neighborhood.

First, huge supermarkets not only provide necessary products, at the same moment they are accumulating entertainment facilities such as movie, restaurants, and children’s playgrounds, bowling. Thus, a supermarket plays role of a community center where local people may spend their spare time and communicate with each other. In addition, it is convenient to purchase everything needed from clothes to chemicals in one place. Consequently, supermarkets have positive influence on lives of neighbourhood.

Additionally, modern people does not depend on closeness of a local store due to means of transport. It means that closeness of local store is not important for the community in terms of consumption. What is important that due to commodity circulation, prices for common products as rule are cheaper in huge stores rather than in small convenient stores, as well as they have discounts on certain types of goods. All these factors made purchase in large shops quite appealing and convenient.

In conclusion, I totally disagree that disappearance of local shops means death of a local community. In a contrast, I am convinced that neighbourhood will receive only positive outcome because huge supermarkets provide large variety of products as well as service and entertainment facilities.